Gray Wolf (Canis lupus)
Grey Wolf

hover over shaded words to reveal more

Grey Wolf
(Canis lupus)
The grey wolf is often known simply as the wolf.
There are 39 subspecies of wolf, including the  grey wolf, red wolf, the dingo and the domestic dog. DNA sequencing has confirmed that the grey wolf and the domestic dog share common ancestry.