Gray Wolf (Canis lupus)
Gray Wolf

hover over shaded words to reveal more

Gray Wolf
(Canis lupus)
The gray wolf is often known simply as the wolf.
There are 39 subspecies of wolf, including the  gray wolf, red wolf, the dingo and the domestic dog. DNA sequencing has confirmed that the gray wolf and the domestic dog share common ancestry.