Lion Cub panthera leo
Lion Cub (Panthera Leo)

Tiger (Panthera tigris)

Tiger cub panthera tigris

hover over shaded words to reveal more

The taxonomic family of the cats. Members of the cat family are known as felids.
They are digitigrade and have protractile claws.
Felids are divided into two subfamilies:
1. Pantherinae (tigers, lions, jaguars, and leopards). Also known as the big cats.
2. Felinae (domestic cats, cougars, caracals, servals, lynxes, ocelots and cheetahs).
Cheetahs are sometimes classified separately as acinonychinae.
Cf. Canidae